Day 15 & 16 – Life with a Broken Ankle

Day 15 not a great day.  I was in a bad mood and didn’t leave the couch much.  Leg was fine.  I knitted a lot and played video games.  Chris went and bought me Lego Star Wars which was nice of him.  Then I had a horrible night.  I think that’s enough said.

Day 16 did not start out great either.  I overslept.  I did not wake up till 9:30 am.  My first meeting was at 10 am.  Super.  Luckily it was with my boss and she was late too.  The rest morning flew by.  My goal was to have myself ready by 1:30 pm so when Chris came home to take me to my follow up appointment I would be ready to go.

My follow up appointment went much better than I thought.  I had prepared myself to be put in a cast for the next 6-8 weeks.  Instead while the doctor was taking out my stitches she the best words some in my situation can hear, “I think I’m going to put you in a boot.”  I know I must have given her a surprised look because she add that she wasn’t making any promises and it depends on the x-ray.  Speaking of x-ray…

xray

Nice little picture of what the inside of my ankle looks like now.

The x-ray showed that everything is healing well.  The doctor prescribed that I be booted instead of casted. Yea!  I was fitted within minutes, given my instructions, tested hobbling around on crutches with it and given a follow up appointment for 4 weeks.  I have some simple stretching exercises to do daily when I take the boot off.  I can shower without the boot on. Yea again!  No pressure for three weeks and then it’s just 50%.  And I got the clearance to go to Boston in the middle of August for work.  I’d say it was a pretty good appointment.

My new accessory for at least the next 4 weeks.

IMAG0995

The boot is heavier than the splint, but I feel more comfortable and supported in it.  I am so excited I can take it off.  She did mention I can sleep without it, but I’m such a restless sleeper that I’d be too worried about hurting myself.  Plus I have been getting up to go to the bathroom like every 2-3 hours anyway.  I’ll see how the first week goes and the re-evaluate the sleeping situation.  I still am sleeping on the couch.  Hopefully I will be back in bed soon.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

